Skip to main content

The City Auditor's Office seeks to assist City Council and citizens in ensuring that our local government is accountable, transparent, and cost effective. The Office provides independent and objective feedback on the City's programs, activities, and functions. This work is vital in maintaining resident trust and confidence that city resources are used effectively and efficiently. The City Auditor is appointed by and reports to the City Council through an Audit Committee.

Effective April 19, 2017, this page is now the official City Auditor page. Learn more about the Forward Site here.

Contact Information

Address: 1201 Leopard Street, Corpus Christi, TX 78401

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 9277, Corpus Christi, TX 78469


Phone: (361) 826-3661

Fax: (361) 826-3310

Fraud Hotline: (361) 826-8477 (TIPS)



Arlena Sones, CPA, CIA, CGAP
City Auditor

Kimberly Houston
Senior Auditor

Robert Pedraza

Sarah Arroyo, MPA
Assistant Auditor

City Auditor Services

Report Financial Abuse

Find online forms and contact information to report financial abuse, fraud, or waste within the City.

Auditor Picture

Arlena Sones, City Auditor

In 2013, the City Council appointed Arlena Sones to the position of City Auditor for the City of Corpus Christi. As City Auditor, she is responsible for leading a staff of three auditors in providing audit and non-audit services, including investigations of alleged fraud, waste, and abuse.

Ms. Sones is a certified public accountant (CPA), a certified internal auditor (CIA), a certified government audit professional (CGAP), and she has over 16 years of audit experience.  Prior to her appointment as City Auditor, Ms. Sones worked for the City of San Antonio and Williamson County, Texas. She earned her Bachelor of Business Administration degree from the University of Texas at Austin.

Ms. Sones is a member of the Association of Local Government Auditors, the Texas Society of CPAs, and the Institute of Internal Auditors-San Antonio Chapter, where she was elected as president and later served on the Board of Governors.